Can I buy weed in Colorado as a resident of Maryland?

Can I buy weed in Colorado as a resident of Maryland?

Yes, you can buy weed in Colorado as a resident of Maryland, and yes, you have to smoke it in Colorado. Last September's historic vote legalizing marijuana use and sale for recreational purposes gives residents of the state the opportunity to get their hands on one ounce or less of weed legally - as long as they stay in the Centennial State.

When I was asked if Marylanders could buy marijuana here, I had to smile, because a recent Facebook post asking the same question got more than a few "likes."

The short answer is yes. You can buy marijuana here legally but you can't bring it home, yet.

"We know people are coming from out of state," said Barbara Brohl, executive director of Colorado's Department of Revenue, which oversees the state's marijuana industry. "Part of it is, it's a novelty."

The novelty of buying marijuana in Colorado has made headlines across the nation as well as internationally. Stores have popped up near Denver International Airport, at bus stops and along highways outside towns popular with tourists.

But there are a few things to remember when you're shopping. First, you can't bring marijuana to Maryland or any other state.

Even if you don't have a medical marijuana card in Colorado, anyone 21 and older can buy pot at one of the more than 700 medical and recreational stores across the state. Recreational customers pay a higher tax rate, but with that purchase they get a receipt that enables them to bring their weed back home.

So far, few Maryland visitors have been cited for attempting to transport legal marijuana across state lines. The Colorado State Patrol says it issued one citation in the first six months of this year for attempting to carry marijuana into another state - down from 249 citations in 2014.

Buy Cannabis in Colorado without breaking any laws

When you're in Colorado, you can buy up to one ounce of marijuana at a time, but legally, it's important to remember that only a person 21 years or older can purchase it. It's also illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana, and it's illegal to drive with an open container of marijuana in your car. Drunk driving laws apply, too. Remember, you must be 21 years or older to smoke or use marijuana legally in Colorado.

In addition, remember that smoking is only allowed indoors if you have permission from the property owner.

You don't need to have an MMJ card in Colorado, you just need to be 21 years or older. And anyone can buy it - that means out-of-state visitors aren't barred from the retail marijuana market and they shouldn't run into any trouble when bringing weed across state lines, as long as they're 21 or older and within Colorado's legal purchase limits.

And as far as what you can buy in Colorado, there are plenty of choices beyond the stereotypical joint. There are edibles: cakes, candies, cookies such as the Caramel Apple Cider Chew from Good Meds; sodas like Legal's Strawberry Soda Pop; patches, and even bath bombs from iComestible.

Last word: Just be safe, respectable and responsible when purchasing your Cannabis in Denver, Colorado.

Cannabis and Hemp: What is the difference
Can you buy a pound of Cannabis?

Related Posts

Featured Deals

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://cannabis.page/

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.

Accept Cookies

By clicking 'Accept', you agree to our and our partners' use of cookies and other technologies to process your personal data to personalise your experience and deliver tailored advertising to you, on and off our sites. Click here for our Cookies Policy.